WORKSHOP

Hands‑on Microservices Architecture and Design Workshop with Chris Richardson

  11 days

English  

Learn how to deal with some of the key obstacles you’ll face including distributed data management and discover strategies for refactoring a monolith to a microservice architecture.

Enterprises need to deliver better software faster. It’s no longer sufficient to release quarterly or even monthly. Instead, organizations must use methods such as DevOps to frequently deploy changes into production, perhaps as often as multiple times per day. However, one obstacle to DevOps-style development is that organizations are often mired in monolithic hell. Key business applications are large, complex, unwieldy monoliths, so it’s impossible to rapidly and safely deploy changes. The solution is to adopt the microservice architecture—an architectural style that has the testability and deployability necessary for DevOps.

Through a combination of lectures, discussions, and kata exercises, Chris will walk you through using the microservice architecture to develop your applications.

This course will be offered virtually over 8-day sessions of varying times:


Date Time (AEST) Timezones Conversion (link)
Tuesday, 7 June 2022 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM Perth, WA & Singapore: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday, 8 June 2022 Anytime
(2-3 hours 5-people group work)
Perth, WA & Singapore: Anytime (2-3 hours 5-people group work)
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: Anytime (2-3 hours 5-people group work)
Thursday, 9 June 2022 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM Perth, WA & Singapore: 9:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Friday, 10 June 2022 Anytime
(2-3 hours homework)
Perth, WA & Singapore: Anytime (2-3 hours homework)
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: Anytime (2-3 hours homework)
Tuesday, 14 June 2022 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM Perth, WA & Singapore: 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Tuesday, 14 June 2022
Wednesday, 15 June 2022
Anytime
(2-3 hours 5-people group work)
Perth, WA & Singapore: Anytime (2-3 hours 5-people group work)
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: Anytime (2-3 hours 5-people group work)
Wednesday, 15 June 2022 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM Perth, WA & Singapore: 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Thursday, 16 June 2022 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM Perth, WA & Singapore: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday, 17 June 2022 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM Perth, WA & Singapore: 9:00 AM - 1:30 PM
Auckland & Wellington, New Zealand: 1:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Learn how to:

  • Architect an application as a set of microservices
  • Use sagas to maintain data consistency
  • Implement queries that span services
  • Test microservices
  • Refactor a monolith to services

About the Author

Available dates

Dates coming soon

Can't make it on any of these dates?
Our team is happy to discuss other options with you.
Contact us at sales@skillsmatter.com and mention ref: MICROSERVICES-CR-02.
Private tuition and large-group discounts are also available. Find out more here.

Who should take this workshop?

Application developers, systems engineers, and SREs.

Prerequisites

There are no prerequisites for this workshop.

Workshop Outline

In this course, you'll learn about:
  • The essential characteristics of the microservice architecture, its benefits and drawbacks, and when to use it.
  • Strategies for service decomposition
  • Distributed data management patterns
  • Effective microservice testing strategies
  • Strategies for refactoring a monolithic application to a microservice architecture

Hands‑on Microservices Architecture and Design Workshop with Chris Richardson
Dates coming soon